Medical Council of Canada

Dr. Louis Levasseur Award

Dr. Louis Levasseur Award

The Dr. Louis Levasseur Distinguished Service Award is presented annually to a Council, staff or Committee member of the Medical Council of Canada (MCC), past or present, or to a person whose collaboration has contributed in an extraordinary manner to the vision and mission of the MCC.

This award is named for the former Chair of the Central Examination Committee, Dr. Louis Levasseur, who for 26 years personified an unwavering commitment to the objectives of Council. He embodied the qualities and accomplishments that precisely characterize both the activities and type of person this award is intended to honour.



Nominations may be made by past or present members of the MCC, members of its constituent bodies or staff. The nomination letter and two letters of reference from individuals who are knowledgeable of the MCC’s vision and mission and of the contribution of the candidate to those ends must be submitted electronically to no later than May 1 of the current year.

The nomination letter must outline in point form:

  • the nature of the nominee’s contributions
  • the impact of the nominee on the MCC and its mission and vision
  • how the nominee’s achievements/activities have promoted the mission and vision of the MCC


2018 Recipient

Ms. Nancy MacBeth

Nancy MacBeth is sharing over 30 years of experience in politics and education with the Medical Council of Canada (MCC) by acting as a member of its governance. She has indeed served as a public member of the MCC Council since 2004 and as President of Council (2013-2015). Nancy is a former Minister of Health for the Province of Alberta (1988-1992). She also worked as an adjunct professor for the School of Public Health at the University of Alberta (1993-2001) and acted as the Leader of the Alberta Liberal Party (1998-2001). She then welcomed the opportunity to delve into the medical education and assessment framework for physicians in Canada by joining the MCC. She believes that the sustainability of publicly funded healthcare is one of the primary responsibilities of both the federal and provincial governments.

Having earned a Bachelor of Arts in French and Russian from the University of Alberta in 1969, Nancy then completed postgraduate studies in French at the Université Laval.

For over a decade, Nancy’s main hobby was horseback riding. She is now pursuing certification as a Clinical Somatic Educator to help people learn how to move without muscular pain.

Nancy lives in Edmonton with her husband, Hilliard, and her Tibetan terrier, Tanner. Her two beloved dressage horses are retired to the pasture.


Past Recipients

2018 Ms. Nancy MacBeth
2017 n/a
2016 Dr. Jeffrey Turnbull
2015 Dr. Oscar Casiro
2014 Dr. Georges Bordage
2013 Dr. Ramses Wassef
2012 Dr. Dennis Kendel
2011 Dr. W. Dale Dauphinee
2010 Dr. David Blackmore
2009 Dr. Thomas Maguire
2008 Dr. Gordon Page
2007 Dr. Jacques Étienne Des Marchais
2006 n/a
2005 Dr. Larry Ohlhauser
2004 Dr. Ernest Skakun
2003 Dr. Ian Bowmer
2002 Charles Fremont Scott, Q.C.
2001 Major General John W.B. Barr, M.D.
2000 Dr. John Baumber
1999 Dr. Michel Bérard