Close this search box.

Dr. Louis Levasseur Award for Distinguished Service

Recognizing an individual whose collaboration has contributed in an extraordinary manner to the vision and mission of the MCC.
About usAwards & research grantsDr. Louis Levasseur Award for Distinguished Service

About the award

The Dr. Louis Levasseur Award for Distinguished Service is presented annually to a council, staff, or committee member of the Medical Council of Canada (MCC), past or present, or to a person whose collaboration has contributed in an extraordinary manner to the vision and mission of the MCC.

This award is named for the former Chair of the Central Examination Committee, Dr. Louis Levasseur, who for 26 years personified an unwavering commitment to the objectives of Council. He embodied the qualities and accomplishments that precisely characterize both the activities and type of person this award is intended to honour.

Nomination process

Nominations may be made by past or present members of the MCC, members of its constituent bodies or staff. The nomination letter and two letters of reference from individuals who are knowledgeable of the MCC’s vision and mission and of the contribution of the candidate to those ends must be submitted electronically to [email protected] no later than April 30 of the current year.

The nomination letter must outline in point form:

  • the nature of the nominee’s contributions
  • the impact of the nominee on the MCC and its mission and vision
  • how the nominee’s achievements/activities have promoted the mission and vision of the MCC

2023 recipient

Anne-Marie MacLellan, MDCM CSPQ, FRCPC

Dr. Anne-Marie MacLellan is a medical graduate of McGill University. Inspired by her youth lived around the world, including in Laos, and by medical training rotations in Afghanistan and Pakistan, she became a specialist in pediatrics and dedicated her clinical activities to the care of hospitalized children.

After several years as director of the Medical Emergency Department at the Montreal Children’s Hospital of the McGill University Health Centre, Dr. MacLellan successively held the positions of associate physician-in-chief at the Montreal Children’s Hospital and director of the Pediatric Network of the McGill University Health Centre. McGill University named her associate dean for Postgraduate Medical Education and Professional Affairs, positions she held from 1993 to 2002 while continuing her clinical activities.

This medical, academic, and leadership career path ultimately led Dr. MacLellan to the Collège des médecins du Québec where she held the positions of assistant secretary and director of the Medical Education Division from 2006 to 2022. Rapidly, she became a key leader in Québec as well as in the rest of Canada, with regards to standards and accreditation in medical education, medical workforce mobility including the Québec-France agreement, improvements in the process for the issuance of permits to practice and the assessment of international medical graduates.

Throughout her career, Dr. MacLellan has served on several boards of directors, including the Collège des médecins du Québec, the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame, and the Medical Council of Canada where she also served as president of the Board (2008-2009). While at the Collège des médecins du Québec, she sat on many provincial and national committees. Since 2021, she is a member of the Board of Directors of the Foundation of the 34 Combat Engineer Regiment.

Her leadership led to several peer recognitions, including from Cystic Fibrosis Canada (Ontario 1982), the Emergency Department, Montreal Children’s Hospital (2001) and McGill University (2003). She is also the recipient of several prizes, including the Letondal prize from the Association des pédiatres du Québec (2004) and the Continuing Professional Development 2013 Prize from the Fédération des médecins spécialistes du Québec.

Past recipients



Pierre Lemay
Claire Touchie, MD, MHPE, FRCPC
Karen Shaw, MD
Yves Lafortune, MPA
Nancy MacBeth, MA, BA
Jeffrey Turnbull, MD, MEd, BSc
Oscar Casiro, MD
Georges Bordage, MD, BSc, PhD
Ramses Wassef, MD
Dennis Kendel, MD
W. Dale Dauphinee, MD, FRCPC
David Blackmore, PhD
Thomas Maguire, MB, BCh, BAO
Gordon Page, PhD
Jacques Étienne Des Marchais, MD
Larry Ohlhauser, MD
Ernest Skakun, PhD
Charles Fremont Scott, QC
Major General John W.B. Barr, MD
John Baumber, PhD
Michel Bérard, MD