For applicants | Medical Council of Canada
Close this search box.

For applicants 

Learn more about the selection process and eligibility requirements for Practice-Ready Assessment programs.

Practice-Ready Assessment might be right for you if:

  • You have certification from an international jurisdiction and intend to practice medicine and live in Canada
  • You have gone through a residency program and/or have been in practice abroad, but in a context that is not known to be comparable with medical practice in Canada

Why choose the Practice-Ready Assessment pathway:

  • Receive valuable guidance from experienced physician assessors as you adapt to practice in Canada
  • Provide crucial support in medical care in areas of high need of Canada
  • Secure employment in the province of assessment upon successful completion of the program and the granting of a provisional licence. Most physicians who graduate from a Practice-Ready Assessment (PRA) program obtain a full licence within two years.

What is the selection process?

Prospective applicants need to apply directly to their preferred provincial PRA program.

The selection process for PRA programs is competitive. Each program uses a common screening process to evaluate the credentials, experience, and assessments of applicants to ensure they meet minimum eligibility and sponsorship requirements for the practice-ready route. Programs then select candidates through a regional ranking process that takes into consideration national standards.

Eligibility requirements are informed by the Federation of Medical Regulatory Authorities of Canada (FMRAC)’s Model Standards for Medical Registration in Canada.

Common eligibility screening requirements

Although some PRA programs use additional selection or ranking tools to select candidates into their programs, to be eligible for any PRA program, a candidate must confirm:

The TDM Examination

Some provincial PRA programs use the Therapeutics Decision-Making (TDM) Examination as a screening requirement for their programs.

The TDM Examination aims to assess the competence of candidates at the level required of a family physician practising independently and safely in Canada. It consists of patient-based scenarios representing common or important clinical presentations and problems that family physicians practising in Canada should be able to competently manage in the following dimensions of medical care: health promotion and illness prevention, acute illness, chronic illness, and safety and adverse effects.

The NAC Examination

Some provincial PRA programs use the National Assessment Collaboration (NAC) Examination as a screening requirement for their programs.

The NAC Examination aims to assess an international medical graduate’s readiness to enter a Canadian residency program. It is a half-day exam in which candidates rotate through a series of stations where they are presented with typical clinical scenarios.