MCCQE Part I | Medical Council of Canada
Close this search box.


The national standard in Canada assessing candidates' medical knowledge, skills, and abilities at a level expected of a student completing their medical degree in Canada.

What is the MCCQE Part I?

The Medical Council of Canada Qualifying Examination (MCCQE) Part I is a summative examination that assesses the critical medical knowledge and clinical decision-making ability of a candidate at a level expected of a medical student who is completing their medical degree in Canada.

Candidates graduating and completing the MCCQE Part I typically enter supervised practice. Aside from formal accreditation processes of the undergraduate and postgraduate education programs, the MCCQE Part I is the national standard for medical schools across Canada and, therefore, is administered at the end of medical school.

You must take and pass the MCCQE Part I and meet the Licentiate of the Medical Council of Canada (LMCC) eligibility criteria. Canadian medical regulatory authorities may require you to have the LMCC to apply for a medical licence within their province or territory.

How is the MCCQE Part I delivered?

The MCCQE Part I is a one-day, computer-based exam that is delivered in Canada and over 80 countries. The exam is offered during four sessions a year. Candidates have the option to take their exam at an available Prometric test centre or through remote proctoring on a first-come, first-served basis.

 View MCCQE Part I dates

Candidates are allowed up to four hours in the morning session to complete 210 multiple-choice questions and up to three and a half hours in the afternoon session for the clinical decision-making component, which consists of 38 cases with short-menu and short-answer write-in questions.

What does the MCCQE Part I test?

The examination is based on the MCC Examination Objectives, which are organized under the CanMEDS roles.

The exam is based on a blueprint that assesses your performance across two broad categories:

  • Dimensions of care, covering the spectrum of medical care
  • Physician activities, reflecting a physician’s scope of practice and behaviours

Each category has four domains, and each is assigned a specific content weighting on the exam:

Decorative image of the Dimensions of care evaluation grid
Continue reading...