Medical Council of Canada

Outstanding Achievement Award

Outstanding Achievement Award in the Evaluation of Clinical Competence

This prestigious distinction recognizes an individual or group who demonstrate sustained excellence in Canadian health care and/or health-care research. Its recipients are the people who ensure our health-care professionals meet the high standards that Canadians enjoy and expect.

The Outstanding Achievement Award in the Evaluation of Clinical Competence is unique in that its nominees and recipients come from a broad range of health disciplines, such as dentistry, physical therapy and medical practice.



Nominations may be made by an individual or organization knowledgeable in assessment procedures within the health-care professions and faculties of medicine/health sciences in Canada. A nomination letter must be submitted electronically to no later than June 1 of the current year.

In addition, the supporting documents listed below must be either included with the nomination letter or submitted later:

  • A minimum of one letter of support from a person or organization, other than the principal nominator, familiar with the work of the nominee
  • The nominee’s current curriculum vitae


2020 Recipient

Dr. Kulamakan Kulasegaram

Dr. Kulamakan (Mahan) Kulasegaram completed his PhD in the Department of Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics at McMaster University. He is currently a scientist at the Wilson Centre and at the University of Toronto MD Program. In addition, he is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Family and Community Medicine and Education Scientist in the Office of Education Scholarship. His research explores the cognitive processes evoked by the experience of assessment and how these processes can be aligned with transfer of learning and clinical reasoning.

He uses psychometric and experimental methods to understand how assessment can promote the application, adaptation, and extension of knowledge during medical training. His other major interests include the application of cognitive theory and learning sciences to instructional design as well as the use of learning analytics to predict educational outcomes. In 2017, he was the inaugural recipient of the New Investigator in Education Research salary award from the Department of Family and Community Medicine at the University of Toronto.

Past Recipients

2020 Dr. Kulamakan Kulasegaram
2019 Dr. Rose Hatala
2018 Dr. Shiphra Ginsburg
2017 Dr. Richard K. Reznick
2016 n/a
2015 Dr. Robyn Tamblyn
2014 n/a
2013 n/a
2012 Dr. Kevin Eva
2011 n/a
2010 Dr. Daniel Klass
2009 Dr. André Jacques
2008 Dr. Glenn Regehr
2007 Drs. Richard and Sylvia Cruess
2006 Dr Carlos Brailovsky
2005 Dr Gordon Page
2004 Physician Achievement Review Instrument Development and Assessment Team
2003 Dr. Arthur Rothman
2002 n/a
2001 Dr. Geoff Norman