The MCC welcomes new Council members | Medical Council of Canada
Close this search box.
NewsThe MCC welcomes new Council members

The MCC welcomes new Council members

October 5, 2021

Following a decision on October 5, 2020, the Medical Council of Canada (MCC) has continued to adopt a more modern governance model. The shift includes a smaller skills-based Council to facilitate more agile and timely responses to the assessment and medical licensure needs in Canada as well as the priorities of the organization. 

During the recent nomination process, individuals seeking to contribute their expertise and experience to help inform the MCC’s strategic directions and future activities were encouraged to apply.

It is our great pleasure to announce that on September 28, 2021, the MCC welcomed the following new members to its Council:

Dr. Sarah Funnell
Dr. Gordon Giddings
Dr. Mary Oxner
Dr. Lyn Sonnenberg
Dr. Isabelle Tardif

The new members will join ongoing Council members who have adeptly guided the MCC through a year of transition:

Dr. Teresa Farrell
Mr. Brian Mazer
Dr. Scott McLeod
Dr. Cyril Moyse
Dr. Heidi Oetter
Ms. Kate Wood
Dr. Bruce Wright

We invite you to learn more about our Councillors by reading their bios.

Dr. Bruce Wright has been elected as the new Council President for a two-year mandate. The MCC extends its thanks to Dr. Jay Rosenfield, whose tenure as President since 2018 included guiding the organization through the challenges of the past 18 months of the pandemic.

The MCC’s mandate remains to ensure that physicians in Canada have the foundational skills to provide safe patient care regardless of their specialty and benefits everyone living in Canada.