The MCC welcomes new Council members | Medical Council of Canada
Close this search box.
NewsThe MCC welcomes new Council members

The MCC welcomes new Council members

September 29, 2022

The Medical Council of Canada (MCC) welcomed two new members to its Council during the Annual Meeting that took place in Ottawa, ON, on September 28 and 29, 2022.

Since October 2020, the MCC has shifted to a smaller, skills-based Council to facilitate more agile and timely responses to the assessment and medical licensure needs in Canada as well as the priorities of the organization.

During the recent nomination process, individuals seeking to contribute their expertise and experience to help inform the MCC’s strategic directions and future activities were encouraged to apply, specifically individuals with regulatory experience in health professions and members of the public (non-physicians).

It is our great pleasure to announce that on September 28, 2022, the MCC welcomed the following new members to its Council:

Ms. Stephanie Connolly
Ms. Levonne Louie

The new members will join ongoing Council members:

Dr. Sarah Funnell
Dr. Gordon Giddings
Dr. Scott McLeod
Dr. Cyril Moyse
Dr. Heidi Oetter
Dr. Mary Oxner
Dr. Lyn Sonnenberg
Dr. Isabelle Tardif
Ms. Kate Wood
Dr. Bruce Wright

We invite you to learn more about our Councillors by reading their bios.

Dr. Bruce Wright, who has been elected for a two-year mandate in 2021, remains the Council President.

The MCC wishes to thank outgoing Council members, Dr. Teresa Farrell and Mr. Brian Mazer, for their dedication and contribution to the work of the MCC over their tenure.

The MCC’s mandate remains to ensure that physicians in Canada have the foundational skills to provide safe patient care regardless of their specialty and benefits everyone living in Canada.