The MCC elects Kate Wood as President and welcomes its new members | Medical Council of Canada
Close this search box.
NewsThe MCC elects Kate Wood as President and welcomes its new members

The MCC elects Kate Wood as President and welcomes its new members

September 27, 2023

OTTAWA, ONTARIO – Following the meeting of Council on September 27, 2023, the Medical Council of Canada (MCC) welcomed Ms. Kate Wood as the new Council President. Ms. Wood has served on Council since 2019 and was part of both the Finance, Audit and Investments Committee and the Governance and Nominating Committee.

“I am excited to embark on the collaborative journey of defining and building the organization’s future while continuing to ensure that physicians have the foundational skills to provide safe care, regardless of their specialty, for the benefit of everyone living in Canada,” said Ms. Wood. “I am equally enthusiastic to work alongside Dr. Viren Naik, our newly appointed Chief Executive Officer, who will assume that role in January 2024.” 

Ms. Kate Wood, a retired lawyer, served as a public member for eight years with the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta (CPSA), including two years as its President. In the past, she also served on numerous humanitarian boards and is a Past President and Chair of the National Board of Governors of the Canadian Red Cross.

We are also pleased to announce that following a rigorous selection process, three distinguished individuals have been added to our Council. These new members were chosen for their expertise and experience and ability to inform the MCC’s strategic directions and future activities.

The new Council members are:

Dr. Tanis Adey
Mr. Daniel Faulkner
Dr. Brent Thoma

They join the following continuing Council members:

Ms. Stephanie Connolly
Dr. Sarah Funnell
Dr. Gordon Giddings
Ms. Levonne Louie
Dr. Heidi M. Oetter
Dr. Mary Oxner
Dr. Isabelle Tardif
Ms. Kate Wood
Dr. Bruce Wright

We invite you to learn more about our Councillors by reading their bio.

The MCC expresses its heartfelt appreciation to Dr. Cyril Moyse, Dr. Scott McLeod and Dr. Jay Rosenfield, outgoing Council members, for their commitment and invaluable contributions throughout their tenure with the organization. Additionally, we extend our gratitude to Dr. Bruce Wright, our outgoing President who continues as Immediate Past President and Council member, for his dedicated leadership and service to the MCC over the past two years.