Medical Council of Canada

Practice-Ready Assessment

Practice-Ready Assessment

The National Assessment Collaboration (NAC), a group of national and provincial organizations with a stake in the assessment of international medical graduates (IMGs), has created a pan-Canadian model with a set of common standards, tools and materials for Practice-Ready Assessment (PRA) programs across the country. These materials have been developed in an effort to ensure that all PRA programs operate in a consistent and comparable manner across provinces and territories. Candidates who are interested in PRA are encouraged to contact the provincial program of their choice for a complete list of eligibility requirements. The following is a list of PRA programs:

For information regarding international medical graduate programs visit our partner organizations page.


What is NAC PRA?

Interested in learning more about NAC PRA? Watch our video to discover what it is all about:

This fact sheet gives an overview of the NAC PRA program as well.
The project has received funding from Health Canada for design and development activities.

Fee to support pan-Canadian PRA

To support this ongoing work and ensure sustainability of the program, the NAC will begin charging a candidate fee of $1,750 as of January 1, 2018. The fee will be incurred whenever a candidate enters the PRA clinical over-time assessment period.

The NAC will not charge the fee if:

  • Candidates fail the initial screening or selection assessments
  • Limited capacity prevents the candidate from being allotted a “spot” in the clinical over-time assessment

The fee was set taking into account projected candidate volumes and the corresponding economies of scale. The program has been developed to be economically sustainable and will continue to evolve to meet jurisdictional needs on an ongoing basis.

Read more
Read less

Pan-Canadian PRA involves the development and maintenance of PRA standards, tools and materials. The project has met some important milestones, including:

  • The development of clinical assessment tools and a comprehensive clinical assessor training program
  • The creation of more rigorous selection assessments, to determine assessment program eligibility
  • The launch of an orientation portal focusing on the practice of medicine in Canada, and particularly the communication and cultural competencies required for success
  • The development of a research agenda to support evidence-based policy decision making

The first phase of the project involved cataloguing the various program elements already in place across jurisdictions in Canada. See the environmental scan for more information.

Family Medicine, Internal Medicine and Psychiatry PRA standards have been approved and are now available.

All of these successes have occurred thanks to the collaboration and dedication of PRA programs, the NAC PRA Steering Committee, medical regulatory authorities, the certification colleges and associated specialty committees as well as other partners from across Canada.

Read more
Read less

An annual electronic publication, the NAC PRA newsletter highlights the project activities that took place over the course of the year.