Dr. Louis Levasseur Award

Louis-levasseur-paintingThe Dr. Louis Levasseur Distinguished Service Award is presented annually to a Council, staff or committee member of the Medical Council of Canada (MCC), past or present, or to a person whose collaboration has contributed in an extraordinary manner to the vision and mission of the MCC.

This award is named for the former Chair of the Central Examination Committee, Dr. Louis Levasseur, who for 26 years personified an unwavering commitment to the objectives of Council. He embodied the qualities and accomplishments that precisely characterize both the activities and type of person this award is intended to honour.

Nomination information


Dr. Jeffrey Turnbull

Dr. Jeffrey TurnbullIn addition to a BSc (University of Toronto) and a Masters Degree in Education (University of Western Ontario), Dr. Turnbull received his Doctorate in Medicine at Queen’s University and later achieved specialty certification in Internal Medicine through the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada in 1982.

Dr. Turnbull has been the Vice Dean of Medical Education at the University of Ottawa (1996-2001), the President of the Medical Council of Canada (1999- 2000), the President of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario (2006-2007) and finally the President of the Canadian Medical Association (2010-2011).

Dr. Turnbull has pursued an interest in poverty and its effect on health nationally and internationally. He is one of the founders and is currently the Medical Director of Ottawa Inner City Health for the homeless which works to improve the health and access to health care for people who are chronically homeless. As well, he has been involved in education and health services initiatives to enhance community and institutional capacity and sustainable development in Bangladesh, Africa and the Balkans. He is the recipient of several national and international grants and awards, including the Order of Canada, the Order of Ontario, the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal and an Honorary Degree of Law from Carleton University.

In addition to being a specialist in Internal Medicine, Dr. Turnbull was the Department Chair of Medicine at The Ottawa Hospital and University of Ottawa from (2001-June 2008), a position he left to take on the role of Chief of Staff. He also served as Senior Medical Officer for Correction Services Canada (2011-2014). He recently took on the role of Chief, Clinical Quality for Health Quality Ontario. He remains committed as a medical educator with special interests in “Poverty and Health Inequity” and associated health policy.

2016 Dr. Jeffrey Turnbull
2015 Dr. Oscar Casiro
2014 Dr. Georges Bordage
2013 Dr. Ramses Wassef
2012 Dr. Dennis Kendel
2011 Dr. W. Dale Dauphinee
2010 Dr. David Blackmore
2009 Dr. Thomas Maguire
2008 Dr. Gordon Page
2007 Dr. Jacques Étienne Des Marchais
2006 n/a
2005 Dr. Larry Ohlhauser
2004 Dr. Ernest Skakun
2003 Dr. Ian Bowmer
2002 Charles Fremont Scott, Q.C.
2001 Major General John W.B. Barr, M.D.
2000 Dr. John Baumber
1999 Dr. Michel Bérard